Home made weighted lap pads/vests? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-23-2007, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,

I am a special ed teacher and a SN mom, and I have a student with sensory issues (but did not qualify for OT/PT) that I would like to provide weighted lap pad/vest/neck roll, whatever he needs, and was wondering if any of you had made your own, and especially, what you filled it with. I was also wondering if any websites had instructions.

TIA for any info.
L.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-23-2007, 01:42 AM

We haven't made one *yet*, but we do use two different blankets and one vest that our OT from EI gave us on loan. I found one site through the dogpile search engine: http://www.connectingfamilies.net/cf...ted%20blankets

They have an area that you can get a pattern to make a vest or blanket.

You may want to make sure you don't make it too heavy. Ours is 3lbs for our 30 lb son. Also, you'll probably want to make a cover for it, so it'll be washable in case it gets messy from sickness, etc.

Some things that people have used for the weights are popcorn kernals or beans or plastic pellets (from fabric shop) or pea gravel.
Old 10-23-2007, 02:33 AM

I really like these simple, straightforward directions - with pictures! http://velcrokids.com/?cat=4

I haven't made ours yet, but I just bought all of the stuff. We are going to use poly beads from the craft store as filler.
Old 10-23-2007, 12:49 PM

What a great site! Thanks, Mellanie
Old 10-23-2007, 03:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lactationlady View Post
I really like these simple, straightforward directions - with pictures! http://velcrokids.com/?cat=4