A little update on us! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 08-04-2003, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So it's been a month since ds, 18 months (almost 19), was diagnosed with a phonological dealy. We've been going to speech therapy once a week, with today being our third session.

Ds can be bashful around strangers and at our first session it took 35 minutes for him to even make a peep. But our speech therapist is so sweet and patient with him. These last two sessions he jumped in feet first and was eager to play with her.

He is making progress. I don't really think anything she has done has helped, because everything she does are the exact same things I have been doing with him for the last 18 months, but it is comforting to know he is being monitored.

When we went for the initial eval, he could say 'boo' for boom, 'na-na' for banana and 'uh-huh' for yes. He could also repeat 'ma-ma', 'da-da' and 'ba-ba', but couldn't use them specifically.

Since that time, he can now use 'ma-ma', 'da-da' and 'ba-ba' in reference to me, dh and his bottle. He also now says, 'baaa' for ball. He can say, 'pppp' for up. Also, he is very into learning his alphabet. He has learned several uppercase letters and can say about 5 of them.

The speech therapist is very impressed with his intelligence. As a matter of fact, today, when we got there she had some age appropriate toys layed out for him, but ended up getting out more complex ones because he figured out the other ones so easily and was bored. He did a very complex shape puzzle in a matter of seconds and even amazed me!

So, all in all, I am pleased and feel that we made the right decision in getting him evaled. He still isn't able to imitate sounds very well at all, but I'm hoping that will improve too.

That's about all for now.

lisa

~lisa~mama to 3 boys (1/02, 5/04, 12/06)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 08-04-2003, 05:13 PM