Strange booty question - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-18-2008, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I hope this doesn't break any rules, but I have a question about my dd's behind. She is normal in every way that we can tell in that sense, except that it looks like the "crack" extends up further toward her back. What I mean is that, at the top of her booty, there's a place where the skin looks like the beginning of her back and then, just a few cm above that, there is an opening again. It doesn't go very far, maybe a half an inch or so.

Anybody heard of this or seen it before?

Wendy ~ mom to VeeGee (6/05), who has PRS, Apraxia, SPD, VPI, a G-Tube, 14q duplication, and is a delightful little pistol! I'm an English professor and a writer.
#2 of 15 Old 01-18-2008, 03:23 PM

My dd has something called a sacral dimple, which sounds like what you're describing but hers is right at the top of her butt crack, kind of like a little hole. I've been told it's harmless. I know they can possible indicate a problem with the spinal cord but in our case that isn't true. How deep is it?

Nicole, mom of 3. Mitochondrial Disease.: Epilepsy
#3 of 15 Old 01-18-2008, 03:27 PM

My ds has a very deep sacral dimple and a v shaped butt crack. His ped ordered an u/s when he was 1 month old. It was normal.

I would point it out to your ped at your next visit.
#4 of 15 Old 01-18-2008, 03:39 PM

: i have exactly what you are talking about, my mum had a cute nickname for it....... its harmless from what i can tell, I dont have any problems from it or connected to it.
#5 of 15 Old 01-18-2008, 03:40 PM

I would definately have it checked out. A sacral dimple can be a marker. Just like a Hemangioma, or hair at the base of the spine.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/sacral-dimple/DS00753

Quote: