Child-led weaning and cognitive delays/weaning an autistic child? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-06-2008, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, all

My little guy is three - four in August - and I'm feeling like I'm getting kind of burnt out on nursing. I've been nursing one of my children - and for almost 2 years, both of them - for 5 1/2 years.

So I'm wondering if anyone here (and if there is, they'd be here!) whose nursed a child with cognitive delays and either gently weaned or done child-led weaning. If so, I'd really like to hear your experiences, if you'd share them with me.

The thing is, I'm a believer in child-led weaning. But I have an enormous load on my plate right now, and I'm feeling very burnt out. I gradually decreased nursings with my son over the last year (so I guess, already, child-led weaning in the strictest sense is already out for us), so I mostly only nurse him at bedtime, to sleep, and for comfort when he's sick or hurt. I have to be completely honest and say that I'm starting literally cringe some nights at bedtime. But I can't get him to sleep without it, and particularly with an autistic child, breaking a routine is a huge upset for them. Plus, I don't want to overshadow a mostly wonderful nursing relationship with a traumatic weaning.