36 weeks with twins...feeling so much pressure/ pain - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 12-17-2009, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi mamas.

I need some experienced twin mama advice here. I am 36 weeks (2 days) and am feeling so much pressure in my cervix. It honestly feels like I am going to drop a head out! All that pressure translates to some sharp, stabbing pains in the cervix and menstrual-like cramping. However, I am not having any regular contractions or anything like that.

So is all that pain and cramping normal?? I am so hoping to make it to 37 weeks. I am hoping that this doesn't mean that labor is right around the corner.

Thanks so much!

Three boys.  jumpers.gif
#2 of 27 Old 12-17-2009, 02:37 PM

I am not experienced with this, but I am 36 wks 5 days and had something like that off and on all night on Tuesday night. I was feeling really pathetic in the morning and was inclined to stay in bed and whimper. But I dragged myself out to the shower and ate breakfast. It helped with the generally feeling awful, though I still have so much pressure in my pelvic area.

I had an appointment with my HB midwife yesterday. She checked me and thinks that I will still be pregnant next week, though she could feel baby A's head way down low. I think that with A's head so low and her sister sitting right on top of her, I am generally uncomfortable. The crampiness comes and goes. It tends to be more noticeable when I lay down for a while. When I move around and/or eat, it tends to go away.

I am torn on which is more uncomfortable. If I am upright, I feel so much pressure in and around my pelvis and cervix. If I lie down, they slide up into my lungs and I can hardly breathe. I’m sure that I am fun to sleep with at this point, with all of my huffing and puffing and panting!