Mothering Forum banner

A few questions (working, homebirthing, ident/frat)...

887 views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  rbkincaid 
#1 ·
I've only known this pregnancy = twins for three weeks now (found out at gender u/s),

so I'm catching up on some research!

I'm a registered nurse on a med/surg floor.

Until we found out it was twins, I'd planned on working until the end, like I did last time.

Tell me your working stories! Financially, we can't afford for me to be out for months.

However, I want to homebirth these babies like our last pregnancy, so I know I need to take care of them/me!

I'm planning on doing whatever it takes - switching to nights, cutting hours, training as secretary...

I know 12h shifts aren't the best idea, but I find breaks to sit and put my feet up and I'm staying hydrated.

According to my reading, same-gender twins are difficult to label as identical/fraternal...right?

I mean, there are so many subcategories with separate sacs, etc.

So why do I see people saying they're having certain types?

Tell me about successful homebirth plans, regarding twins! Any links or literature?

Thanks in advance! Happy to be here! My local mommy forum board is great, but sparse when it comes to multiples.

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome!

I worked until the day my water broke... at 30 weeks... at a part time low stress desk job. Moral of my story is that even low risk working situations can end in pre term labor. Hopefully yours will go better!

Here's a link I found helpful with regard to types of twins: http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/_/viewer.aspx?path=dorland&name=twin.jpg

Yes, same sex twins in separate sacs could be either identical or fraternal. If they're in the same sac then they're identical. Mine were in two sacs, so we did a dna cheek swab test to be sure they were identical.

#3 ·