Mothering Forum banner

Some ridiculous twin questions

2K views 17 replies 15 participants last post by  lobilichetti 
#1 ·
So, I have no experience with twins whatsoever. No twins in my family, no friends with twins, nothing. I've read two books: Mothering Multiples and When your Expecting Twins, Triplets, and Quads. I'm low on resources, and Im one of those people that needs to read like 10 million and 5 things before I feel relaxed. So, any good book recs, forums that are a little more active, or anything? The twin group here in Louisville seems to be mostly older people who have twins in middle/high school. So, if you are a twin/multiples mama or if you just happen to know lots about twins, please help me answer some questions.

When one twin cries, will the other one cry too? Will I have a constant mess of crying babies?

Is it feasible to EBF twins if you've never had supply issues before? (Ill supplement if I have to, but I'd like to try).

Am I going to feel like a cow, with a baby at my boobs all the time?

Does your belly hurt a lot when it stretches out with two babies inside? The pictures look so painful.

Can you put twins skin to skin (like kind of swaddled in the same blanket?) to calm them, or is that just asking for two upset babies close together?

Can you fit into regular maternity clothes? Twin mamas look so much bigger, that it seems like none of my old clothes will work. What do you wear when you get huge?

How do you answer the questions about IVF/Fraternal or Identical/ ect? Already, almost everyone I've told asks if I used fertility drugs. I didnt, but I dont think its their buisness. What do you say?

Is it possible that I have fraternal twins based on OPK strips? I o'ed on Friday and then on Saturday the strips were light and then on Sunday they were super dark again, looking like I o'ed twice.