brewers diet? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 05-04-2007, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been seeing alot about the Brewers diet on the pregnancy boards. I was curious if any moms with twins have used this during pregnancy. I'm somewaht overweight and worried about preclampsia and gestational diabetes, since the risks are so much higher with twins and with the me also being overweight. Any advice or opinions I would appreciate.

Thanks, Aradria

Aradria SAHM to : ds 2003, ds and dd 2007 and ds Nov 2009. :
#2 of 11 Old 05-04-2007, 12:11 PM

I did Brewer with my singleton and my twins (I'm a Bradley teacher and Bradley promotes Brewer).

The basic philosophy is common sense: pregnant women (and lactating women) need to eat well in order to be healthy and grow healthy babies. The idea is to get a variety and abundance of fresh foods and to also increase protein consumption.

For twins, the plan is modified a bit:

--3500 calories/day
--120 to 150 grams/protein/day

If you're overweight to begin with, you *may* not need that many calories every day. But you still need variety. And you still need the extra protein.

You can learn more at www.blueribbonbaby.org .

Good luck.
#3 of 11 Old 05-04-2007, 12:34 PM

I did the Brewer diet with my singleton, and am now following the Brewer diet for twins through this pregnancy. My dd went 10 days past her "due date" and my placenta still looked great. So far, the extra nutrition seems to be having a positive effect on the twins as well - last u/s at 13 weeks they both looked great, and both measured exactly at 13 weeks.

I agree that the diet is based on sound nutrition and a very balanced diet. In fact, it keeps me so busy eating good foods that I am rarely even hungry for "junk," which is great.

Wife to Thomas, WAH mama to Sofia Rose 8/04, Ellen Marie 10/07, her twin sister Amalie Joy lost 7/07 , and Maya Grace and Hannah Miriam 4/10