How to increase chances of twins? - Mothering Forums

How to increase chances of twins?

Shirada's Avatar Shirada (TS)
04:12 AM Liked: 10
#1 of 66
09-08-2007 | Posts: 484
How does one increase the chances of getting pregnant with twins? My maternal grandmother was a fraternal twin. I hae 3 children and I'm aged 36. I've heard the chances are increased with age. Since a child I have always felt that I would someday have a set of twins. I don't think I am romantiszing the idea of twins, (I have my hands full right now with my 3 darlings), I just think I would really enjoy it.
newmoon2000's Avatar newmoon2000
04:36 AM Liked: 0
#2 of 66
09-08-2007 | Posts: 156
I'm no expert, but I believe the reason the chances of twins are higher as you get older is because ovulation becomes irregular with age. So, some months you pop out no eggs, and the next month you pop out two!

As for increasing your chances, I'm don't think there is a natural way to do that. There are fertility drugs you can take to increase ovulation, but I wouldn't recommend that and I doubt your doctor would either!

But, good luck! YES, it's very challenging to be pregnant with and raise twins and, YES, it's an amazing blessing!
04:45 AM Liked: 10
#3 of 66
I forgot to mention that I meant a natural way. I wouldn't use drugs.
AmyY's Avatar AmyY
08:15 AM Liked: 171
#4 of 66
09-08-2007 | Posts: 1,178
Huh - wow - that's cool that you want to have twins!

I got nuthin for ya on how to make it happen naturally but I'll send some twin vibes your way, 'kay?

I love it when people are into twins - cool! All the best to ya!
DoomaYula's Avatar DoomaYula
10:35 AM Liked: 11
#5 of 66
09-08-2007 | Posts: 4,907
Try sex. It worked for me.
mama_at_home's Avatar mama_at_home
01:33 PM Liked: 0
#6 of 66
09-08-2007 | Posts: 2,629