Do you socialize w/other moms? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-20-2009, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, this is a question aimed mainly at full-time WOHMs, or those for other reasons have a schedule/commitments that do not permit them to be around w/their kids much during the day.

I'm a f/t student. So, during breaks, I can do preschool drop-off/pick-up & playdates, etc., which is really nice. I'd like to try to keep up the social connections for DD, but it's tough (she's 4) as my sitter doesn't drive or speak English. My mom could probably do a bit of playdate action...

Anywho - I am really surprised by the amount of social and other activities these preschoolers have! It seems like, at least among those I've gotten to know a bit, the kids & moms have, in addition to preschool, at least one class or playdate per day, often more! I consider myself reasonably social, but it seems like, well, a lot! And also expensive - a good bit of the socializing seems to involve restaurants, and all the classes are pricey (but, it's a fairly wealthy area, and I'm on the low-end of income, so it's not as much of an issue for most). I'd also like to stay in the loop w/the preschool,but again, a lot of costly things - there's a benefit party/dinner thing coming up, and I'd like to go, but it's $75! It just seems like everything comes w/a price tag, and I'm a single, student mom!

So, is all this socializing typical? It seems to me it would be hard to take care of much else (paperwork, cooking, cleaning, etc.). But maybe b/c most of the year I'm in school f/t, and I'm going through a divorce and a few other extremely time-consuming things that I'm more time-strapped than others??
#2 of 15 Old 01-21-2009, 12:40 AM