Can quitting your job be a job goal? haha - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-14-2009, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just completed my annual evaluation at my job. I have been working at this job since Nov 2004. Every year I fill this out and not once has my boss had a meeting with me about it! So I never really know how I am "doing", although I assume it's fine or she would say something. I spoke to a coworker who had a different supervisor and he had just finished with his evaluation in which they spoke for over 1 1/2 hrs! I told him I had never done that.
So on Friday my boss emailed me and told me to add/modify the "goals" section of the evaluation. The funny thing is, is that I didn't put any goals and I never have on any of the other ones. So either this coworker said something or she's finally getting her @*!@ together. I don't really have any goals specfic to the job, only that I don't want to do that job anymore. I am quite burnt out (microscope work). I am only wanting to keep this job until I have a baby, that's my real goal. Any advice?

Dd Sydney 3/06 & Dd Lola 2/10
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-14-2009, 08:00 PM

I've felt that way before
But I think you could still set some goals, depending on your long term plans and what time frame you're looking at now. Your goals could be toward a potential future job - unless you're planning on never working again - for instance a course, project that will expand your options now or in the future. If you may still be here a while (not sure if you're pregnant already or planning to be?), why not think of goals that will make your current job more enjoyable? Or are there ways to move within the organization and do something else?
Nobody needs to know you're planning to leave, but I would plan with the possibility in mind that for whatever reason you'll continue or return to work, there or someplace else. You just never know..