LONG To work or not to work? Need some fresh ideas... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-22-2009, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DH and I are stuck and not able to make a decision. Ok, I guess its more mine than his to make. Hoping for some fresh active working mama ideas/thoughts/insights to help me out.
Before DS was born almost 2 years ago now, I was an event planner/pr person for a major university. I had this position at 2 different universities over a 5 year span. I have a masters in a somewhat related field, some corporate experience, but mainly non-profits/education.
My pregnancy with DS was the best accident ever, as was its timing with finding out that DH(PhD student) had received funding for all of us to go to West Africa for 9 months for his field work. DS was born, I went back to work PT for 2 months after leave and when he was 5 months, became a SAHM when we went to Mali and have been one the past 9 months we've been back.
We are living off of DHs small teaching stipend, student loans and some investment income that, obviously shrank considerably over the past year.
The idea, when we left Mali was originally that I would go back to work, but I could stand the thought of leaving DS, so we figured out based on the investment, that we could live 3 years like we are now. It would fund my mommy time, we could have #2 and I wouldn't have to go back to work until #2 was 2. Dreamy, right?
But the economy tanked. We lost 25% of our investment $. There has been one unexpected major expense after another. DH is an amazing job candidate when he finishes in a year, but none the less, he is entering a ridiculously competitive field. Its only realistic that he could be unemployed for a bit. And all of this has obviously made us scared of #2...