Career change for an engineer - any ideas? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-29-2009, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have become totally disenchanted with my career, not just my job, but my career.
It's a challenge just to get through my work day. The problem is we really need me to work, I bring in 1/2 of our income and we are still paying for my degree. My job provides the benefits and has very stable and flexible hours - all great as far as work environment goes I just HATE the work.

I graduated with a Civil Engineering degree, with a concentration in Environmental engineering and I've been working as a transportation engineer/ structural engineer.

Any ideas.

Wife to DH Chris, Momma to :Caitlin Mae (4-28-07)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2009, 03:06 AM
~pi

I come from a family of engineers here who went on to other things. I ended up going to grad school and am now working in health applications; my sister got a teaching degree and taught high school math and physics. For both of us, the background in engineering was a real plus.

Other ideas that pay well and for which you may be qualified include technical writing, science communication, and working for a regulatory agency.

Any chance you could get back into enviro? What about working for an environmental advocacy group? It's often quite helpful to have a technical background.

Do you like business? Not really my cup of tea, but lots of engineers I know went on to get an MBA or related degree. I also know some people who work in financial companies, evaluating engineering investments.

Good luck!

professor & maman de DS1 (6) & DS2 (1)

Old 07-29-2009, 11:15 PM