Do you have a "useless" degree? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 56 Old 07-30-2009, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I figure I'm not the only one who's got some 4 year university degree that isn't of use. Here's mine:

B.Ed. in secondary education, teaching English and Moral education.

I work as a legal secretary Rather far afield, wouldn't you say? and no, I'd never go back to teach secondary school, especially not in Quebec where teachers make LESS than city blue collar workers or bus drivers. Nice huh?
#2 of 56 Old 07-30-2009, 12:17 PM

I have a degree in english lit... how about that? I have no intention of going into teaching, so it is rather wasted. It is the result of being pushed by my parents to go to university when I wasn't ready so I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life.

Sandra SAHM to Kayleigh and welcoming Emily January 2010
#3 of 56 Old 07-30-2009, 12:29 PM

I have a degree in English/Communications... I already forgot the specialty I ended up with (was going to be Journalism but I figured out it wasn't for me about halfway).

I work for a dot-com and the owner is a high school dropout who doesn't give a fig for a sheepskin.

I like my job and don't have regrets, but honestly if I did that part of my life again I'd get a BS in something... engineering probably, but at least math or something.

Homeschooling mama to 6 year old DD.

#4 of 56 Old 07-30-2009, 01:40 PM

Me!! I have a BA in Sociology/Social Anthropology. It was quite interesting at the time, but now I work as a technical writer. I wouldn't say it's a useless degree, since the company I work for doesn't hire people without degrees. But if I could do it over again, I'd definitely get a trade - I keep dreaming of massage therapy or woodworking, or anything where I could use my hands. Maybe someday I'll go back!

I'm Megan , married to Steve, mama to Rowan (11/07) and thrilled to be 03/10!
#5 of 56 Old 07-30-2009, 01:58 PM