Mothering Forum banner

How do I keep DD happy *and* get a full day of work done?

775 views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  ~pi 
#1 ·
I am an illustrator and a signed recording artist, and 2009 marked me going back between part-and full-time. It's been great, but immensely challenging. My daughter is 4 and very, very clingy (and has been since birth). We have a tiny house, so I mainly work at the kitchen table. We don't have money for childcare and I'm not even remotely interested in nanny care. My son is in a FANTASTIC alternative school where we will probably send my daughter next year for pre-K (though I will miss her a lot--but I need--and want--to work).

So I essentially have about 9-10 months left here at home with my daughter. As I write right now, it's 2 pm and I got *one* hour of work done, between 7 and 8 am until she woke up. The nature of my work is such that I can't stop and start (dried paints, interrupted trains of thought, etc.) --and the constant interruption is *killer* on my creativity, which is, of course, essential to my work.

Sooo, work-at-home moms, how do I maximize the time I have left but still get a full day of work done? Any ideas??? I love my career, but of course I love my kids more--but both need to flow together.

#2 ·
If child care is completely out of the question, then your next best option IMHO is when she is sleeping.

My DS is somewhat similar; the only reason I get anything done is because we're able to send him to a great daycare centre. He isn't even terribly good at being able to be distracted by movies -- he wants me to sit with him.

I think you're seeking a magic solution that does not exist. You basically have to be willing to live with one or more of the following four realities:

1) child care (mother's helper?),
2) trade sleep for work time,
3) plunk child in front of tv, or
4) accept that the re-launch of your career will go very slowly for the next 9-10 months.

Your choice.