Tell me what you love/hate about online schooling - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 04-19-2010, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I love my part time job, but looking towards the future, I will probably want to work full time eventually. I'm currently a preschool teacher in a public charter school. I have a bachelor's degree in psychology, which was enough to get me my current job, but doesn't do much to qualify me for other jobs.

ANYWAY... I'm considering going back to school to get another BS in elementary ed which would qualify me to become a licensed teacher in my state. I've found what seems to be a perfect solution- a state university that offers a 3 year program for people who already have a bachelor's degree. The program is almost completely online, with only occasional face-to-face weekend sessions. The program seems like it would fit perfectly into my life, I could easily continue working while going to school. And because it's a state university, tuition is relatively affordable. I also trust in the credibility of the program because it is a part of the state university system; all of the reviews I've found have been positive.

I'm really interested in your opinions and experiences with e-learning. In general, I've always enjoyed school (in addition to my BS, I was halfway through grad school when DS1 was born and I decided to become a SAHM), but I've been out of school for so long that online college classes are outside of my personal experience- they just weren't an option for me 10 years ago. I love to read and learn new things, and I'm pretty darn familiar with using computers/the internet/ discussion boards/ chat.

What are the pros/cons of learning online? What should I look out for?

New signature, same old me: Ann- mama of 2 boys and 2 girls, partnered to a fabulous man.
I'm an unintentional weasel feeder and I suck at proofreading.
#2 of 11 Old 04-19-2010, 12:38 PM