PhD mamas: advice on my timeline? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 04-29-2010, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Background: I've got a BA (English Lit) and JD. I got the JD thinking I could teach after a few years of working, but that's not the case. I've been doing to corporate thing (using my degree) for 6 years. Now I'm going to aim high and try for a PhD - in a different field, but something I discovered late in the game that I like and has a huge deficit in professors.

So, the plan: I'm starting to take classes this summer to make up for the classes I didn't take as an undergrad. I've registered for school and my company is reimbursing me (YAY!). I'm planning on 2 classes a semester (including summers) online though an in-state university. I have an unofficial advisor (letter of reference eventually I hope!). He teaches much of the program and suggested the classes I should take. Since I'm not trying to get a degree, I'm pretty flexible.

The question: I was originally figuring on taking 2 classes a semester through spring of 2012, hoping to start a PhD full time in fall of 2012. That means I'd be doing the application process and all it entails fall of 2011. I'm wondering if that's too short a time-line. I'd like to hear some pros and cons of finishing the classes and then applying for fall of 2013.

Is the application process and GMAT and all that time-consuming enough to wait until I finish my classes?

I'll need some sort of writing sample--I'd be two semesters away from where I intend to be by the time I'd need one. But all of my classes would be super focused...I suppose I can make sure to schedule a research class or something with a large writing requirement before then if everything else is caught up. I'd just hate to be the dork who submitted a paper from an entry level class. That's one of my biggest concerns.