I'm a little bit bummed this week! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 04-30-2010, 02:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey ladies,

It has been a great journey raising my now 5 year old son. He will be off to school in the fall and I have been blessed to be able to hang out,love and teach him. We have been blessed that my husband works from home and of course we have strolled around a park on a random Tuesday or have all decided to go to the zoo on a random Monday.

Well, I have a degree in HIA ( Health information administration) and have been volunteering at the university since Nov in the field of my degree. It seems that jobs that I apply for want experience,but I thought I was doing the right thing in getting that experience.

About 2 weeks ago, I got an interview for a position. I meet all the requirements except a computer software program ( that I'm sure I could learn in a few days). I have the degree and in order to get certification you need this degree.

The phone interview went well and then I went to the in person interview.
I thought this went well,too. ( who knows) I asked the manager when he would make his decision and he said Friday. The interview was on Wed.
Ok, thanks nice meeting you etc etc.

I call next Tues. The HR person said that the manager had not made a choice and told me to call next week. I call the next week and the HR person said the manager was on vacation. Then I get an e-mail saying that the position has been filled.

I'm racking my brains over this. My references work in the same department at another hospital. As soon as the HR people called them,my references called me to tell me. One even said,"we would hire her today,but we are in a hiring freeze."

The funny thing is I am on the mailing list for my former university dept and what comes up today? The job I interviewed for! There are 4 positions!