Thinking about quitting my job - need input - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 05-21-2010, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I work a full-time, extremely strenuous job for the government. Writing/reading briefs, writing/reading motions, going to court for motions, preparing for trial, etc., etc.. I spend more time than anyone would like traveling to and from the county lockup and area prisons. And then trial comes and I not only have to do all of the above, but also argue a (coherent) case in front of a jury.

I'm very young to have advanced this far, but I graduated high school at 14, college at 18, got my Ph.D. at 21, and my law degree at 24. (Yes, I have always been an over-achieving, pain-in-the-ass. ) It's just . . . I've worked my whole life to get here and I guess I'm doubting it now.

My DF (we're getting married in August) has a VERY good job, where he not only makes a ridiculous amount of money, but it's also his dream job. I think the fact that we both have achieved pretty amazing success at relatively young ages is one thing that bonded us together in the beginning.

I could quit my job tomorrow and while our finances would be affected some, it really wouldn't make that much of a difference. I also have my doctorate, so I could write free-lance, or some other kind of here-and-there job and probably make more money than I currently do on my government salary.

I LOVE my job. All the things I wrote about it above? The long hours, endless responsibilities - it's everything I dreamed it would be when I was a kid watching Law & Order with my Mom, thinking "That's what I want to do when I grow up."

I don't want my child to be raised by nannies. Hell, I've wanted to get a dog for quite some time but with the hours I work that would be impossible - I barely give my cat enough attention.