MSW students or graduates? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 06-07-2010, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello everyone! I have two semesters left of my undergraduate degree and am preparing to apply to MSW programs. I know all programs and students are different, but I'm trying to get a vague idea of what a day in the life of the MSW student is like. Did you find it a lot more intense than your undergraduate work? If so, was it due to the courseload or the field placements? Any thoughts or advice? Thanks!
#2 of 9 Old 06-14-2010, 12:34 PM

I'm just bumping this for you, FourTrees, because I would love to hear responses to these questions too!
#3 of 9 Old 06-14-2010, 03:06 PM

curious about this too....
#4 of 9 Old 06-16-2010, 12:44 AM

I got my bachelors in social work and then went on to get my MSW. The coursework was actually a little easier in my MSW program (state school instead of very very competitive private school, pass/fail instead of letter grades). My MSW field placement was a billion times more stressful, though. So all told, I'd say my MSW was more stressful.

Do you want me to talk more about just life as an MSW student? I can do that too.

Mama lady to my lady baby born 3/09 on the kitchen floor.  Looking forward to seeing which room's floor the next one will be born on in October.  love.gif
#5 of 9 Old 06-16-2010, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks for bumping - I'm glad it isn't just me that is curious!

GoGoGirl, I would love to hear anything you can tell me about life as a MSW student! Also, what type of field placement did you have and what about it made it so stressful? Is there any choice in placement typically or are they just assigned?

Thank you so much for your response!
#6 of 9 Old 06-16-2010, 01:38 AM

Ok, just for some context, I did my MSW before I had kids. I was working a non social work job two shifts a week.