"Having it All" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 07-24-2010, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey Moms,

I'm wondering...for those of you with more experience parenting and working and "doing it all," what have you done to make yourself feel successful in all areas of your life?

I am trying to feel satisfied working my job (that I love), raising my baby, nurturing my marriage, maintaining my friendships, continuing to have some "me" time, and spending some time with extended family, in addition to all the regular household stuff you have to keep up with. OY! Seems like I feel like I have a handle on one thing and then another thing gets neglected.

I know I'm not the only one trying to "do it all"! And I am still new at parenting...my baby is only 8 months old. What are your strategies?

Let's talk and support each other...

Birthed a beautiful baby boy, Ethan, 11/11/09.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 21 Old 07-24-2010, 04:53 PM

I try to do it all, but I don't think it's possible especially if you are trying to do it all successfully. Things that get neglected the most are probably the housework. It's hard, but I am sure there's a balance somewhere. Every now and then I will take a half day or full day off from work, just to catch up on housework or go shopping for things I need while DS is at daycare.

Ryan 08-28-08  & Julianna 5-3-11
#3 of 21 Old 07-24-2010, 05:15 PM

My housework and personal relationships suffer. I am okay with the idea that I can't do it all.

Joanna - wife to Mike, mamachicken to Cub(8/98), Kitten (4/07), Dew-man, and Woe-boy(twins, 10/08)
#4 of 21 Old 07-24-2010, 11:01 PM

I'd like to say I can do it all, that I have it all figured out. But, I do not. I think I have gotten pretty good at balancing, though.