A&P is kicking my butt. Advice? Tips? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 10-12-2010, 03:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a PT stay at home mama, a part-time student, and I recently took a PT job that I work around my school schedule. I have a great GPA from my bachelor's program, and a great GPA for my other nursing school prerequisites and have found out that I really like science, but I started my three term A&P adventure three weeks ago and I am freaking out. I can't believe the sheer volume of information and the pace we're going at. It's only a 4 credit class, but this week we "covered" THREE chapters. Integumentary system, bones, bone markings, joints, and movements. My lab is a joke- she hands us what amounts to a 3 page per chapter list of things to identify, define, and understand and then says "Go!" I told her I was having a hard time figuring out how to study for this class (I've never had this happen before) and she shrugged her shoulders. Thanks.

So, I feel like I understand the material, and I'd like to be able to really get into it, but the pace is so outta whack I just have to figure out how to keep my head above water and get the A I need to get into nursing school. Any tips from been-there-done-that mamas?

Used to be stay at home parent to our two lovely girls, survived nursing school with family intact, about to graduate and looking for a job! I low-supply nursed my bio daughter for 3 years. 

#2 of 16 Old 10-12-2010, 03:50 AM

I would say that the most important thing is to make sure you're studying every day. You CANNOT let the reading pile up (speaking from experience here!). Make sure you're doing at least some of the reading every day. I made the mistake of thinking I could just cram before the test like I had been able to do in the past, and ended up having to repeat the first class.