What do you do with a sick kid when you can't miss school - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 11-17-2010, 04:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am a first year nursing student.  The only family I have near me is my MIL and she works full time.  My dh works out of town from Sunday night to Thurs evening.  My dd is sick today and so I'm missing my clinical.  I was going to send her to school anyway bag.gif.  But then she puked while getting ready so I kept her home. What do other mom's do in this situation, especially single moms?  It's okay today but I really need to find a solution to this problem for when it comes up again.  I have regular childcare worked out, I'm just stumped on what to do about a puking kid.  Ideas would be much appreciated.

#2 of 12 Old 11-17-2010, 07:41 AM

Quoted: 35 Post(s)

There may be a sitter service in your area that has sitters who are background checked and can come out in situations like that.  In our area they charge a lot of money, but it is worth it in a bind.  I have a few babysitters who come on occasion and do really fun things with my dd when she is healthy and they are also willing to come if she isn't, as long as it fits with their schedule.  If you can find someone you trust watching her while she is well to build that relationship it may be worth it for the future so you can call on them when she isn't well and she doesn't have to stay with a complete stranger.

#3 of 12 Old 11-17-2010, 08:32 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I just miss class.  I'm a very good student and my professors know I wouldn't miss class just for fun.  I usually talk to them all at the beginning of the semester to let them know of my situation (single mom, full time student, working, with no family in town).  If I know I'm going to miss class, I send them an email, and submit work electronically (if any was due on that day).