Need input; field work related - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-03-2010, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a 18 mo still nursing, I have a almost 4yo. That's great, really, but I'm also a professor at a Universtiy in Mexico and my research involves working on the field.

Specifically I work with deer, mule and white tailed. That means that I have to go out in the field and look for them for long hours at remote locations.

I've really had great support from my family. I usually leave around 5am, and my mom comes to watch the girls while we are gone. DH usually goes with me everywhere, he is a SAHD, so he is pretty flexible. The girls love my parents and they live very close, so is all great.

However, I'm planning a short visit at a different state to work and learn new techniques. I went through all the loops and paperwork to get the financial assitance, and when  I finally have it the guy from the other university says he thinks is not a good idea to bring my 18mo old with me. He says work is going to be intensive, I'm might be gone for 2-3 days a few times. I get it, actually I knew it was going to be hard to make it work. My little one is still nursing, specially at night. Leaving for 2-3 days is going to be hard for her, for my mom (who will be watching her) and for me, but I was really excited about this opportunity. I feel sad about it, YKWIM, I love my girls and I love my job but... should I try anyways? should I let this go and look for other options? what if I try to night-wean her in this month (the trip will be early next year)? 

I guess I'm just venting, but if you have any suggestiong or BTDT I would love to hear.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2010, 10:42 PM
~pi