do you love your job but hate where you have to live to do it? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 03-29-2004, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Just wondering if any of you are having conflicts between where you must live to do your job, and where you would like to live if that weren't necessary.

Being a research scientist, I really have to go where the resources are, and that is the USA. I have a dream job here in Cleveland, at one of the best cardiac electrophysiology centres in the world. My boss is fabulous and a total sweetheart. I could have a fabulous career here if I stayed...

But I really don't like it here at all. It's not the kind of place that suits me, where I would want to raise my children. The type of lifestyle we want for our kids is hard to find here. And of course the very biggest issue is that I miss my family sooo much. I was fine being away from them until I had DD, and now with another one coming I just want the kids to know their family and vice versa.

So, I've come to the decision that my career is going to come second to my Life and my Family. We're going to try to make a go of returning to our home town. I will be able to work there, just probably not as satisfying a career as might otherwise be.

Just wondering if any of you have faced or are facing this dilemma?

teapot2.GIF Homeschooling, Homesteading Mama to DD ('02) and DS ('04)  ribbonjigsaw.gif blogging.jpg homeschool.gif

#2 of 17 Old 03-29-2004, 03:20 PM

I hope it's ok if I post here?? If not just let me know. We are struggling with the same thing and have been for some time. But it's not my job, it's dh job. We moved here only because he got a job here. And now we are doing quite well financially, but are unhappy. Because we would rather be where we were.

He has considered changing professions but has been doing this for over 20 years and has a good rep and it sucks to start over.

I don't know?