Any single moms start college a little later than normal? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 03-16-2011, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I must admit I feel a bit of conviction when I am in class with people who are 5-6 years younger than I am, majority of the people I graduated HS with are done or finishing this year, when people ask how much longer I have I give a blank stare as though they asked me for my social security number, it's a silly insecurity I know but an insecurity nonetheless *sigh*  

hola.gif
#2 of 11 Old 03-17-2011, 06:42 AM

I feel that way too some times as I am 30+ and just now working towards finishing college.  I am not single, but I know what you are feeling as I had my son young and college just didn't work at that point.  I try to always remember that it doesn't matter what age I am.  If I am working towards a goal and bettering myself, I doesn't matter what other people think at all.  And by the way, way to go on going back to college!  You should be proud of yourself and hold your head high.  Those students 5-6 years younger than you with no cares in the world have no idea how hard it is to juggle it all and you should be proud that you are doing it!!

Hope, check out my life at http://thethriftyqueenspeaks.com

#3 of 11 Old 03-17-2011, 07:36 AM
Banned

Hugs!