Career Timing - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 06-18-2011, 12:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am curious as to when you had your babies, career-wise. Did you find that the timing was ideal, awful, or irrelevant? 

I am in my first year of graduate school, and the MS usually takes 2 years in my field. I have decided to start trying to conceive with donor sperm after graduation, whether I get a job or continue with a PhD. Barring serious financial difficulty, I have just decided to make it work. I am 28 now, and I think it will be harder on my career and my body to do it later.

Opinions?

Signatures are sooo mainstream.

#2 of 16 Old 06-18-2011, 05:05 PM

I would just go for it if I were you. Children are the greatest gift ever and you sound like you are more than ready to have one :)  I received my associate degree in accounting when my dd was 6 months old and began working when she was 13 months. I plan to start online classes one day hopefully... Good luck!

Single mom to Claudia love.gif

#3 of 16 Old 06-19-2011, 12:36 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

DD was unplanned; ended up being about a year earlier than optimal career-wise but certainly later than optimal biologically (I was 31).  Overall I am glad it worked out this way because I definitely feel a biological time-crunch for #2 (and a possibly possible #3).

I know you were asking more about career issues - to which I would say in a lot of fields there is no perfect time anyway so it is probably best to give biology the trump card, and grad school is anyway typically more flexible than postdoc or 'job job' - but I did want to raise the issue of having a supportive partner, which I think is *vastly* more important than the timing of the child wrt career trajectory.