Any Nanny's or child care providers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 07-14-2011, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have an interview on Monday for a job as a nanny to a family with a 7mo, 2yo, and 7yo. I am excited and hopeful that I will get the job! Right now I work as an administrative assistant during the day Mon-Fri, and I have a part time job at the mall that I work in the evenings/weekends 3 to 4 days per week. The nanny job would be Mon-Fri only from 8am-6pm and would pay just $20 less than what I make each week with my two current jobs combined. BUT I won't have to work when I should be home with my daughter AND I will have every weekend off. The main thing I am super excited about is I will have more time with my daughter...but I was thinking. Should I even ask if I could also bring my daughter with me each day? Spending all day everyday with my daughter sounds so wonderful, plus I would still be bringing in income. So would you or would you not ask to bring your child along?

Also, any advice on what to expect during the interview would be greatly appreciated. I love children but haven't really been around any other than my DD, neice and my nephews.

Single mom to Claudia love.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 07-14-2011, 12:33 PM

I would not ask to bring your child along, unless you are willing to take a deduction in pay, honestly.  You would be a nanny for 3 children already, and if I was the parent I would want to know that your attention was focused on my children - not your own child.

The exception to this, of course, would be if the employer had known prior to setting up the interview that you were looking for a job that your child could tag along to.

Good luck!!

#3 of 8 Old 07-14-2011, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter