Call back after interviews... any thoughts? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 07-22-2011, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

I am an elementary teacher in grad school working on a masters in counseling pysch who wants to work with emotionally disturbed adolescents (middle school and up).  I applied for a position that I am a bit overly qualified for, but I am trying to break into a different field and a new, older population.

So... I had three interviews (1. group interview, 2. interactive interview, 3. individual interview) for a classroom counselor (basically supporting the SPED teacher and students with behavior issues) position at a very large non-profit organization that provides services to emotionally disturbed children and their families. All three interviews went great, from my perspective at least.  Additionally, my former principal is the director of education at this organization and she gave me a strong reference. 

My last interview was on July 8 and the interviewer told me that if I didn't hear from HR by Friday, July 15, to give them a call.  I called on 7/15, but my HR rep was out and I was redirected to another HR rep's voicemail.  I left a msg.  No return call.  I called again on 7/20 and same as previous... my original HR rep out and left a voicemail for the other rep.  Still no call back.  The only communication I have received are the results of all my reference and background/criminal checks, which all came out good.

Is this typical?  Would I receive a rejection letter?  Am I missing something?  Should I call back next week or just let it go? 

#2 of 3 Old 07-28-2011, 08:22 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)