Student Parents/Finances/Housing - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-27-2011, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Let me introduce myself: Sort of single parent (we coparent, 50/50, ie: no child support), full time student, currently staying at mom's house and paying her rent. I made the decision to cut my hours at work down to essentially, still employed but no longer scheduled, last fall to return to school full time. It was by far the best and worst decision I've ever made - on one hand, I'm pulling a 4.0 and have deeply invested myself in both my department (English) and the Women's Resource Center where I am a program coordinator for student parents. I'm feeling absolutely confident in continuing my MA here with a GAship once I finish my undergrad, which will be somewhere between next summer ('12) and fall. On the other hand, I'm strapped financially. The drive from my mother's house to school is about 35 minutes and filling up my gas tank every 4 days is taking its toll. My daughter has been extra explosive since the school workload picked up, and she seems to be struggling at my mother's house - bedtime is an epic battle, probably because she wants more momma time, but also because she's not an incredibly independent/self-directed kid - she likes to be the center of the universe, with all her fans doting on her princess self, and so on. :)