Are we crazy/Is this going to work? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-02-2011, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Wow. So the reality of our current plan is starting to hit me and I am suddenly feeling a little overwhelmed. So I need some outside thoughts. Here's the general breakdown.

DH and I care-take an adult who has intensive developmental disabilities (Autism and other issues), he lives with us full-time with no real respite, except for my parents at this point (we are working on this). DH has worked/lived with him for almost two decades and I have been here for a few years.

We have a 27 mo DD, who is fantastic but definitely spirited, intense and very smart. She is not in any outside care, except my parents occasionally. (My parents are AMAZINGLY FANTASTIC people).

I have a bachelors degree in a field of liberal arts that is not really effective for a career direction and we live in an area of limited industry. I am currently applying to graduate school for Special Education in an online program that would start in November.

DH does not have a degree but is planning on starting his undergraduate online this fall with the goal of getting a Masters in a related field.

DH works full-time outside of the home in a manufacturing capacity on the night shift 3 days a week. This carries all of our benefits so it is important.

So our goal is this: he works and gets his undergrad while I do my masters then when I have completed that I get a job and he stops working, stays home with the kids and does his masters.

The curve ball is that we kind of want to have another baby before I start working or student teaching, so that would involve getting pregnant sometime this winter.

Are we insane to both be going to school full-time (online) while caring for a toddler, an adult who has intensive needs and talking about having another baby while one of us works full-time?

-M-, mama to G 4/09joy.gif