Single parenting and making night shift work! Please tell me your stories!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 08-03-2011, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I just accepted a position as an RN that will entail 3 12 hour shifts a week...I have a soon to be 18 year old, a 12 year old, a 7 year old and a 1 year old...The kids go to their dad's house every other week with the exception of the one year old who would be with me all the time.  I am looking into having a friend come in and do the asleep overnight with a ride to school for the 12 year old...sleep, how and when?  Reimbursement for overnight care??? And have you survived?  As a new nurse my options are limited, and you usually have to come in on the shift no one else wants.  3-11 was available but then I would NEVER see the older kids.  Please tell me your success stories.  I have no other choice as of now, this may change with a year of experience. 

Nursing student, (LAST SEMESTER!!!)Cloth diapering, cosleeping, breastfeeding mama to 4!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 2 Old 08-05-2011, 05:11 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My experience was easier as I was only dealing with an infant.

I worked full time shift work (so my scheduled varied from days evenings and nights) after my daughter was born and my husband was away on business from about 5 mo to 11mo that year.

I had a part time nanny that was willing to work with my crazy schedule and stayed at my house overnight when I worked that shift - she would either stay during following day or my mom would help out with additional childcare the next day if she wasn't able so I could sleep.  I paid her the same rate regardless if she was sleeping over or not.