Working full time and need to finish my degree - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 09-17-2011, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Just wondering how many people are in this boat. I need to get my degree finished. I have the job I want but I want to move up. I can't unless I have my degree. My boss has already promised the move in writing during our last assessment and all I have to do is finish my degree.

I almost feel like I have to get it done ASAP, and I'm already feeling guilty about the time away from the kids. DH thinks I'm being silly since my boss is also offering me 4 hours of paid time off a week to help me get it done. I still can't shake the feeling that I'm literally going to be so busy my family might suffer.

I want to hear from people that are working going to school and making it work.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 16 Old 09-17-2011, 09:09 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm sort of in the same boat, except I don't have paid time off to do school work! That's awesome! I am doing my degree online which gives me more flexibility, but sometimes it feels very overwhelming. I just keep reminding myself that it's for a limited amount of time - about a year in my case, and I'll be in a much better place once I have that piece of paper. I'm also hitting the ceiling in my carer unless I have the degree, and that's my motivation - I can move to something with better pay and more interesting work.

#3 of 16 Old 09-17-2011, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter

I was thinking about online, however there are some things that will not fit for my learning style to do it online. So I've been checking out the classes and it looks like I could do about half of them online. Which might help me ease into it. I have a little over a year to go.
#4 of 16 Old 09-17-2011, 05:00 PM