Balancing Work and Family Responsibilities - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-28-2011, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Those of you who are either working or in school, how do you cope with your parental responsibilities? What gets done and gets left undone?

I am a university student, mother of three and I often struggle with finding enough time. I hadn't given this much thought until I recently read Heroes of Tohoku Earthquake by Adela Valerian. In this story the family is stuck alone together. It made me wonder how close me and my own children are. What would they like to play on a rainy day....

Any thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-30-2011, 08:12 AM

Mentioned: 234 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)

I think this is a question all working parents struggle with.  For me, most of the housework doesn't get done until it gets real bad I just can't take it anymore or someone important's coming over!  Then I go into a cleaning frenzy.  I try to leave early for work and get home early.  I ask the nanny to get the kids dinner at about 4, so when I get home at about 5 we just play legos and babies and kitchen and trains and whatever.  Then dad comes home and the kids have some fruit or nuts or some other snack while dh and I eat a simple dinner.  So, I guess "family dinner" goes by the wayside in our family. 

I was a stay at home mom until July.  We did basically the same stuff.  We also did a lot of long walks/ bike rides and we played at the park alot and went to the library alot and we'd watch trains at the train depot and sometimes go for a ride on them.  Also, I'd sign us all up for story time at the library and stuff like that.  What do you do with the kids on the rainy weekends?  It'd be just like that. 

Married to one of the last good guys left Jim
Mom to AJ 4/07 and Genevieve 5/09

And then: I'm really, really tired of making angels.

But wait, could it really be true?