Daycare - gifts for fellow kids and teachers? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 11-05-2011, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello,

My son started daycare in September (he's almost 3).  He's in a classroom with 23 other kids and 3 teachers.  I've never had a child in daycare and I really have no clue about the etiquette.  At Thanksgiving one little girl left a wrapped up book in each of the other kids boxes and it said '(girl's name) is thankful for her friends!'.  At Halloween there were several little baggies of treats left in each box.  I have yet to bring in any sort of gift to share with the other kids.  Am I supposed to?  The next big holiday is Christmas and I really am not sure what I should be doing..

I'm also totally unsure about gifts for the teachers.  What type of gift should I get?  There are 3 teachers and I'm a single parent and student so I have very little money for extra gifts.  I love his teachers, they really are awesome.  And I can say that in a card and get them a small gift (how small is too small?)  And is that enough?  (and then there is also the woman who does all the snacks and meals..  should I get her something?)

Advice please!

Mama to my charming little boy, born at home January '09
#2 of 8 Old 11-05-2011, 06:52 PM

For gifts for other kids, I have had some parents who do this for holidays (Halloween goody bag with stickers etc.) but I've never done it. In my experience, many of those parents are teachers and they get stuff in bulk for their class and just get extra for this purpose. Totally optional and I would not worry about that at all, I just say thank you to the parents if I run into them.