Help me figure this out please (school, working, kids) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 01-11-2012, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We have 2 kids- an 8 year old boy and a 2 month old boy. 8 year old is in school full time. I SAH with the 2 month old currently (I am a sub for the school district but haven't accepted any jobs since baby was born). I graduated with my associates in spring 2011 and took some time off school. But now is the time to decide what I'm going to do. My original plan was to become a special ed teacher. Recently I started contemplating nursing. DH is supportive of whatever I want to do.

My problem with nursing is what to do with the kids during school vacations? DH's work is somewhat flexible and he can work from home during short vacations (random days off, spring break, etc) but summer break is a concern. The 8 year old has autism so cannot be left with most babysitters/daycares/summer camps (currently the school calls me 1-3 times a week to come deal with his behavior- I would get fired if that happened all summer long!). My FIL can help out, but he's not healthy enough for all day 5 days a week. Working opposite shifts as dh is an option, but we would all be miserable with that.

Is there something I'm missing? What do other parents do?

I think teaching is probably the best for our family situation (I wouldn't go to full time until the youngest is in school full time), but I don't know if I'll be good at it. I have no doubts about the students or the actual teaching- it's dealing with the higher-ups and the politics I don't agree with.

How do I make this decision?

Steph, DH Jason (1-1-11), DS Owen (10-3-03) and DS Kai (10-13-11)

#2 of 11 Old 01-11-2012, 02:41 PM