Mothering Forum banner

RN mamas: What's the job market like?

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Gator-mom 
#1 ·
I'm in my last semester of my BSN program and I'm starting to look around for jobs (which isn't very reassuring) I was just wondering what it's like in your area and where your area is??

Any suggestions for a new grad on the search for their first RN job? FYI, I don't have a lot of preference at this point. I really like psych, but I've really enjoyed just about all my clinical experiences. I'm doing my capstone in ICU right now, which is giving me some great experiences!

#2 ·
According to allnurses.com, the job market for new grads is awful pretty much everywhere.

Do you, or have you worked as a nurse tech/CNA? I know that helps, slightly. I've heard it's challenging to even find a RN position in nursing homes, in some areas, w/o that magical one year of experience.

Continue networking now, and volunteer if your school schedules allows.

#3 ·
I am doing home health LPN work right now..but I only have like two patients. They said they want to keep me as long as they can, but they are small, and there is not a lot of promise to add to that case load. I also did flu shots this fall. My plan is to actually see if I can volunteer at our local free clinic when I finish classes (if they will let me pre-RN licensure). The free clinics see a lot of homeless and mentally ill patients, and that is where I feel my heart is, even though there aren't really a lot of paid jobs there. But I am hoping it might help me move into the psych-nursing world. I'm coming from a very highly respected school in our area, so I am really hoping that helps. But they keep telling us that if we are willing to re-locate, it will be easier to find jobs. I just don't know if that's true or not..

#4 ·
Keep up to date on allnurses.com, the posters there often have accurate pictures of what the job market is like in areas.