Professor mamas--tell me about your work/family boundaries... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 03-05-2012, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

...because mine are porous and my job is seeping in and poisoning the rest of my life.  I love my work, but it is intruding on my family and self--I need to learn how to preserve some energy, time, and creativity for my DH and DS, 6 (who needs a lot of support in school right now).  How much work do you bring home?  Do you try to accomplish most of it at the office/college?  How do you decide what your limits are?  Do you feel comfortable citing childcare or family matters as a reason for declining committee work, special projects, etc.? 

I've been teaching for 15 years, but talk to me like I'm new.  Explain to me how you set up your life so that there is a line between work and the rest of who you are/what you do.  At the moment, I am overextended and I'm doing nothing well (and feeling extremely guilty about that).  I may have the summer off for the first time EVER in my life (except for a research grant I will be finishing up), so that might help. 

I'll take tips from any working parents, especially recovering perfectionists, Type A personalities, and pleasers, but I thought professor mamas would be especially inclined to comment as ours is a job that doesn't have a fixed ending time.

Thanks in advance!

#2 of 8 Old 04-24-2012, 04:28 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)

Family first because they will always be there for you.

Mom of 3 working from home doing  http://www.getherhired.com

dust.gif

#3 of 8 Old 04-24-2012, 01:07 PM