Childcare providers who smoke - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 05-20-2012, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So here's a little background on this: My daughter (1 year old in August) has been going to a daycare center since she was a couple months old.  The daycare costs about 1000, taken down to 700 by student childcare grants (I'm a grad student).  Due to location of home and school and such, this is pretty much my only option, but it's a pretty good place.

Soon, my mother is going to be moving up from Sacramento to Portland so that she can live in the same city as me.  I asked her if she would babysit 2 days of the week once fall term starts (with the other 3 days being in the regular daycare), and she enthusiastically said yes.  But then I realized that she smokes.  I mentioned this potential issue to her, and she said that her plan was, when she needed to smoke while babysitting my daughter, to take her on a walk in her stroller and stand 5-10 feet away and downwind while smoking.

Not only does letting my mom babysit twice a week give my daughter consistent time with her grandma and give my semi-disabled mom a purpose, but it also brings my daycare costs down to about 350 after the childcare grant from school.  I'm also hesitant to take this away from my mom after saying she could do it (and I'm not yet sure if I need to).