Finding a nanny/DCP? WWYD? - Mothering Forums
Working and Student Parents > Finding a nanny/DCP? WWYD?
anjsmama's Avatar anjsmama 11:00 PM 06-06-2012

Hey, working/student mamas.

I am currently a SAHM to my 3 year 9 month old DS and 16 month old DD. I have stayed home since shortly before DD was born. I worked in banking for 4 years prior to that, but only worked part time after DS was born, and my MIL was his primary (and free) care provider. 

We moved last year for DH's career and we are now in an area without family and friends. We have not really left our children at all since moving here, aside from 2 hours here or there, when they stayed with DH's coworker & his wife. I am now considering a major career decision that will have me employed as of December (DS about 4.5 y/o, DD just shy of 2 y/o) full time. Due to the nature of the job, there is absolutely no negotiation for hours, flexibility, etc. My schedule will be set for the first 6 months, 6 am - 4pm. DH works midnights, 10 pm-6 am. These hours make me wonder if it's even possible to find a person to care for our kids, or if we'll really need to hire 2... and possibly a back up as well?

I still have not decided whether or not I'm going to take this path. Although it is something I really, really want to do for me, I'm not sure I can leave my kids so young, when I don't have to. We don't need the money. The bonus to "we don't need the money" is that I would make quite a bit of excess income and we can pay for any kind of care we want for the kids. 

Initially, the job was supposed to start in June and my sister had agreed to come and live with us and be their nanny for the first 6 months, to get us through the hard part and give us time to figure the rest out. She isn't going to be available now that the timing has changed. So I have just under 6 months to figure out if I can find someone I can trust to care for my kids in a city where I don't know anyone at all.