Sometimes I Just Want to Quit - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-13-2012, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have been feeling like I can't do it anymore, like I should just give up on school. I am a student and a stay-at-home mama. Everyone in my life seems to be telling me to give up and get a job, but I really don't want to do that. I feel guilty all the time, and like I won't ever finish school or get anywhere. And it doesn't help that I am broke.

It's like I am crawling to get ahead but it seems like its out of my reach!

Has anyone else struggled with this? Sometimes I feel like I will just end up being a statistic.

I am 25 years old with a 6 year old.

Michelle

"We all want progress, but if you're on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn and walking back to the right road; in that case, the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive. " - C.S Lewis

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2012, 12:08 AM

Michelle, if you give up, you will regret it. However, you may be able to change your life in ways that make it a bit more tolerable. I twice gave up my dream to satisfy what first my husband and then my mother wanted me to do. Neither cared at all about what I wanted to do with my life, what my dream was, what would challenge and feed me. They each only wanted their own lives to be more comfortable, and each of them abandoned me when I needed them most.

Follow your dream, if only so that your daughter will see that and follow her own dreams. Guess what? Girls whose moms work hard to get degrees are more likely to work hard to get their own degrees. And seeing you struggle may encourage her to wait to have children until she is out of college.