Anyone an RD/dietitian student? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-01-2012, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)

I have been brainstorming possible careers for a while now.  I have my bachelor's in Literature, but haven't found anything that really calls to me that I would want to go back to school for (I am not considering WOH right now for various reasons, just brainstorming and considering going back to school at some point in the next couple of years). 

FYI, I am currently a WAH mom who works after kids are in bed and weekends, I homeschool, kids have pretty much never been away from me at all.  it would be a BIG adjustment for all of us to have me suddenly be in a 9-5 type of situation.

Becoming a dietitian is one of the few things that sounds like it would be a really good fit for me, both something I am interested in and think I would enjoy. 

However, the schooling program and internship looks pretty...intense! Has anyone done this with small kids at home, homeschooling, etc.?  How do you afford to pay for everything without working (I currently WAH almost full-time and don't make a ton of money, but still it is something to live on!) I think the class part would be managable, but the internship looks pretty killer (and expensive!) Of course, my kids would be several years older by the time I even get to that point, so obviously it will be a little easier all around then.

Would love to hear stories/advice/experience from any RDs out there, either students or currently working.  If a certified RD, what type of jobs/schedules are out there? Is it feasible to be self-employed right off the bat or work part-time? Eventually  I would love to do freelance RD work and possibly some nutrition writing. 

TIA!

Single mama namaste.gif to dd dust.gifand ds fencing.gif, loving my dsd always reading.gif .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-01-2012, 09:48 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)