Working parents: quality of life/financial wellbeing? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-24-2012, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My sister and I have had this argument now for over a year. She thinks I'm crazy to not put 2.5yo DD in full-time daycare and make a better salary so we can eventually buy a home, pay off some debt, not live paycheck-to-paycheck.

We rent an apt. in California because the cost of living is outrageous here and sadly, we are in some debt and cannot afford to buy a house and don't see that being a reality any time soon.

I do wish we could make more money.
One option would be for my husband to transfer his job to a state that isn't failing-- like North Dakota or Montana. Not to mention MUCH lower cost of living. My sister thinks it's absurd and I could just go back to work full time and make more money.

I currently work as a freelancer from home. No, I don't make that much but I also only average 15-25 hours a week. That's pretty darn good considering I am with my DD full time and not paying the high cost for childcare, vehicle expenses, business lunches, clothing. There are drawbacks of course, like stress on project deadlines and having to sit DD in front of the TV, but for my family, it's working. What's so frustrating is having people tell me I don't really "work" because it is from home!

I know daycare can be great for some families. I have considered a nanny. But from most moms I've talked to, it's really tough and they wish it were different or wish they had a choice to WAH or part-time. Daycare in CA is not very affordable or the quality of the care isn't great. I personally think it's heartwrenching to have a young child in daycare for upwards of even 10-12 hours. In my profession-- this would be my DD. I used to work 50-60 hour weeks including holidays. Not fun.