what to wear to a lawyer interview during the 3rd trimester? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 08-01-2012, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I got an interview for a 1/2 time job that I am really excited about.  The interview isn't until the end of the month, meaning that I will be like 35 weeks pregnant at that point.  I am a lawyer, I haven't been working for the last year and I don't have formal maternity cloths.  The job is at a Legal Aid in a small town so it is about as casual as a lawyer job can be.  Do people think I have to buy a maternity suit?  It seems like such a waste to wear it once.  Someone else suggested a dress shirt with black pants and a cardigan? 

mother of 2, wife, daughter, lawyer, toddler wearing, extended breastfeeding, ec-ing, water birthing....

#2 of 3 Old 08-01-2012, 11:19 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

On whether you need to wear a suit or not, probably others are better help than I, since I'm in a different industry. (Where suit wearing in interviews is mandatory. And pregnant bellies are interview death ... sigh ;)

But if you decide that you want to wear one, you might be able to buy/borrow one used. Or, you could buy one new and then resell it. Then it will be worn more than once, one way or another ... just a thought. : )

Mother of two since 2007 and 2009. Hoping third time's a charm in 2012.

#3 of 3 Old 08-01-2012, 02:42 PM

Location: Where creepy facebook-featured threads can't find me
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I work in a biglaw firm and even though we have a "business casual" dress code like most big law firms every single lawyer interviewing here wheres that boring interview suit. However, given the circumstances I think that while you need to dress formally, you needn't wear a suit.

Something like this with class accessories and heels if you can manage them would be fine:

http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=6035&vid=1&pid=187366&scid=187366002