Does anybody work second shift? - Mothering Forums

Thread Tools
#1 of 4 Old 08-23-2012, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
mamayogibear's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

If so what is your daily routine like?


be good family...

mamayogibear is offline  
Sponsored Links
#2 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 04:23 PM
cynthia mosher's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: The Motherland
Posts: 38,824
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)

Bumping for input. Anyone?

cynthia mosher is offline  
#3 of 4 Old 08-29-2012, 08:27 AM
transylvania_mom's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: abroad
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

My dh used to work second shift, while I was working during the day. Does that count?


Anyways, here is our routine (for almost 2 years; now dh just got a new day job):


7 am: I nurse dd and leave for work; dh wakes ds up, gets him ready for school, packs his lunch etc.

8:15 am: ds leaves for school

9 - 12 am: dh takes dd to different activities, playgroup, library, swimming, park, depending on the day

12 pm: lunch

1 - 4 pm: nap time for both dh and dd

4:30 pm: ds gets back from school, I get back from work, dh leaves for work

5 - 6 pm: outdoor play or I drive ds to his activities, depending on the day

6:30 pm: dinner

7 -8:30 pm: more play, homework etc.

8:30 pm: bedtime

1 am: dh gets home from work


transylvania_mom is offline  
#4 of 4 Old 09-06-2012, 09:11 AM
monamcmona's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm assuming 2nd shift is a swing or graveyard shift?  That is ME!  I'm working 24 hours/week.. all of them swing or grave.  It has worked for our family for the last eight years.


Dh gets home at 5:30 sharp and I leave for my 6pm shift.  I get home at either 1am or 5am.. and sleep until 7:00 when my kids get up.  I fix breakfast.. and take older DD(8) to school.  Come home and snuggle in bed with DS (4) and watch a couple cartoons. We spend the rest of the morning doing chores around the house, at the library and the park.   DS goes to preschool at noon 4 days/week and I either go home and zone out for two hours, or go to the gym (this seems to happen almost never :) ) or help in one of the kids classrooms (both are in co-oping programs).  Pick kids up at 3:00pm...get dinner cooked and ready for the family. 


I only work 3 shifts/week so I'm able to recover and enjoy most of my days off :)  I do have my days when all I want to do is crawl in bed and SLEEEEEEP.. but for the most part I love that I get to spend most of my days staying home and helping in the kids classrooms. 

monamcmona is offline  

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Online Users: 16,852

100 members and 16,752 guests
AlaskAnne , AnthonyM , apmomsocal , aqueene , averysmomma05 , azohri , bbtrolove77 , bluefaery , chickabiddy , dandeliongarden , DarioVid1234 , david305 , Deborah , emmy526 , EmSa , enasni453 , EvolvingMama , floss&ferd , frugalmama , greenemami , hillary77 , hillymum , iceface , Incubator , inoregon , IsaFrench , ismewilde , japonica , JuneBugTO , Kate&Joey , katharinerose , kisenok , kitchensqueen , KosmicMama , larali , LiLStar , Linda on the move , littlebear3 , Livebeautifully , loba , MakeItSew , mama24-7 , mamabear0314 , mariamadly , Mathemom , mckittre , Milk8shake , Mirzam , mkat , moominmamma , MountainMamaGC , MsBe , MulberryMom , Mummoth , MylittleTiger , natalie18 , newmamalizzy , Nightwish , NiteNicole , oaksie68 , OliviaA , onthemove , persephassa , prosciencemum , pulcetti , RollerCoasterMama , samaxtics , SandiMae , sarafl , serenbat , shantimama , Shmootzi , sillysapling , smileysadface , SplashingPuddle , stardogs , StrengthWithin , sunrosespiral , Tigerle , TourmalineMama , Unkown , zebra15
Most users ever online was 449,755, 06-25-2014 at 01:21 PM.