Vet School as a Single Parent? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-24-2012, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So I have just discovered that my husband is having an affair.  While that is a topic for another thread, it has lead me to rethink my life plan.  I have been a SAHM for the last 5 years, and I have to get back in the workforce. My problem is that my background is in marine biology, doing field work on boats for months at a time.  Obviously, I can't be doing that with 2 kids in tow.  So I have been doing a great deal of self-discovery and come to the understanding that if I could do anything, and be able to have my children with me, then I would work with animals.  The diagnosing and problem solving involved with veterinary medicine is very intriguing to me.  I have only a few prerequisites that I would need to take, along with taking the GRE's, so I have some time before I can apply to school. In the meantime, I am trying to work through the logistics of going to vet school, and being a single parent. 

I am wondering if anyone knows of anyone who went back to graduate school, particularly med/vet school, as a single parent? How difficult was scheduling care for your children during weekend or overnight on-call rotations?  I think I have the drive and energy to do both school and parenting, I am worried about having to move to my vet school's town, and not have a support system.  

Any information/advice/interesting anecdotes appreciated :) 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-25-2012, 07:27 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)

I don't have any experience with this and it does sound like a challenge but I wanted you to have a response and to get your thread bumped so others can see it!!

Wishing you well!

Old 10-25-2012, 08:33 PM