Back to work torture - need advice - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 11-08-2012, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just started back to work this week and I basically sob the whole time I am home. My daughter is 6 mo and I thought I would be able to handle returning to work but I am not doing well at all.
I can't accept the mere 4-5 hours I see my baby awake. I hate pumping at work. I hate my job (I was a high school teacher for 5 yrs and loved it but hey switched me to 2nd grade greensad.gif )
I would like to drop down to part time or return to maternity leave. Is it possible to return to maternity leave?
If I don' t fix this situation I am going to have a complete meltdown. I am so ashamed that I cannot handle work and motherhood greensad.gif
Any advice?
#2 of 7 Old 11-09-2012, 08:24 AM

I am so sorry, mama. That age is just the hardest. It will get easier. Once you get into a routine, it will be easier. Once she is a little older, it will be a lot easier. It’s a hard year though.

Are you in the US? I would check with my HR department or teacher’s union rep (if you have one) to see what your school’s unpaid leave policy is. Some companies/schools have a sabbatical option that lets you take unpaid leave for a while.

Are there any teachers at your school who job share? That would be a great option if the precedent was already set…if not, it would probably take a LOT of work on your part for it to work out, and a lot of time before it was implemented. I wish that wasn’t the case and was a more common option for employees. Even if it does take time though, I found it helped to have something to look forward to.

It does get easier. This first year isn’t forever, even though it feels like it. It’s so hard to be a working mom. Keep coming back here for more encouragement and give yourself little goals to look forward to…weekends, school holidays, vacations. That helped me a lot. hug.gif