Taking courses for Grad school references - need advice! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-19-2012, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Update - post #10

I am a current SAHM of a 6yo and 8yo who are in school 9-3. I graduated with a BA in Psych 14 years ago with decent but not great marks, like 79% average in last 2 yrs, and then worked for several years before staying home after DS was born 6yrs ago. I have looked into multiple programs at different universities and have set my sights on applying for a Masters in Public Health for Sept 2014 at three universities that offer mostly online courses with a few mandatory on campus courses. I feel this would work best for our family, as DH works long hours and I am responsible for the household and all things kid related. My kids have multiple food allergies and at risk for anaphylaxis, so it's extra work dealing with the school, bday parties, making food from scratch, etc.

All the programs require 2 or 3 references, preferably at least 1 or 2 academic and others professional. I spoke to a former prof from 1997 who said he is willing to write one, but thinks it wouldn't be ideal as the course was so long ago so suggested taking another course to get a reference. I do have some volunteer experience in the field, and while non of it is very formal, I think I could get two professional references based on this work.

I am going to take a course in January, but not sure which one yet, and am contemplating daytime, evening and online courses at my former university and other colleges around town. I don't really know what to expect from online courses, other than it would give me freedom to look after kids who are home sick and attend field trips. I can get child care if I attend a class at night, and would try to schedule daytime classes for during the time the kids are at school.