What do I want to be when I grow up? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 07-09-2013, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am a stay at home mama, have been for about 7 years with about 4 more to go before my youngest is in school.  For all the parents who have found that career that they are really happy with how did you know?  Where do you start?  I had my first child when I was in college, I have an associates degree in business, but I don't know if that is where I want to continue.  So much has changed in my life and in me since I became a mom.  How do you start from here?

#2 of 8 Old 07-10-2013, 03:52 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

I think what I might do if I were you, is go through the book What Color is Your Parachute, in the latest version. This book walks you through your aptitudes and what you are already good at, and helps you to just know by the end of the book what you want to do. It's done in a fun way, not a dry career counselor style. This book once transformed my life and helped me move toward my dream job.

Business is such a broad thing, and the career world keeps rapidly changing. It is really great that you have some time to think this through!

#3 of 8 Old 07-10-2013, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you so much!  This sounds really great.  I wonder if they will have it at my local library?  Gonna go check.  Thanks againlove.gif

#4 of 8 Old 07-10-2013, 06:59 PM

Following! I'll be returning to working away from home in about 4-5 years also and career path has been on my mind.

Me: lady.gif Sarah, married to: geek.gif J, mommy to: happytears.gif C (8/10) and rolleyes.gif E (11/12)

#5 of 8 Old 07-30-2013, 11:02 PM

I need to read What Color is Your Parachute. One thing, though, be careful of choosing a career based on what you are good at....just because you are good at something doesn't mean you will love it, I found this out the hard way, lol.