Planning to open a baby-sling shop and bringing along my 1year old baby along while working is it manageable? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-28-2013, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello,

I am a baby wearing consultant and i am planning to open a shop with eco-friendly baby stuff such as cloth diapers but mostly i want to sell slings. I have at the time speaking an 8 month baby girl who i want to bring along with me at the shop. My idea is to make the shop as baby-friendly as possible, with toys for babys and toddlers around, changing and breastfeeding area, and generally things like that. I am just being a little nervous if it will be easy to care for her and take care of my customers too.Any ideas or tips from moms who actually did something similar?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2013, 07:45 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)

Hello there, welcome to Mothering! I haven't done what you are planning to do, but it sounds like a fabulous idea!  One of my biggest struggles when trying to talk to new moms about slings is that there is no easy way to try different types and/or have someone experienced "show" you how to use them, and model the value of them. The benefit of doing this with your baby is that you will be able to model how you can 'get stuff done' with a baby around. I would think that the clientele coming in would be more patient if you weren't in a position to jump up when they came in the door, and they'd probably all enjoy seeing your baby.

So again, I havent' done something similar, but I would have loved a shop like that when my children were little!

Old 08-29-2013, 04:40 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you so much for your reply, it really gives me courage to continue with my plans

Old 08-29-2013, 11:53 AM